"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indica

The argument put forth by the author is flawed on several grounds. It is his view that customers either do not distinguish between butter and margarine or use the word butter and margarine interchangeably. However, there could’ve been several other possible explanations which the author fails to take into picture.

To begin with, the author brings to the reader’s attention that only 2 percent of customers have complained regarding Happy Pancake House’s decisions to replace butter with margarine. Possibly the biggest flaw in his reasoning is that the author considers a relative figure to make his inferences. Relative figures such as percentages are highly unreliable as the sample size of such data is not known. Had the author made his conclusions on absolute figures the reasoning would’ve automatically been more convincing to any reader.

In addition to the above point, the author goes further to state that since only 2 percent customers have complained it means that 98 out of 100 people are happy with the change. Only a gullible reader would believe the logic behind this reasoning. To say that 2 percent customers have complained about the replacement of butter with margarine could easily mean that either the other 98 percent customers have not realized that such changes have been made or maybe they are unhappy with said change but have failed to bring it to the restaurant’s attention. Complaints from 2 percent of customers is not a strong indicator that the other 98 percent is happy with the change.

The author also mentions that servers have reported that a number of customers have not complained upon receiving margarine when they specifically asked for butter. The veracity and the reliability of the reports by these servers cannot be judged by a reader without further data. Maybe the customers who were served margarine instead of butter did not complain to the server but instead complained to the manager or any other concerned person and the same was probably never brought to the attention of the server or maybe the customers realized the apparent mishap with margarine and butter and did not eat the ordered dish. There could have been several possible explanations as to why the customers never brought it to the attention of the server and without a detailed analysis and a report on relating factors, any conclusion made could be faulty.

From the data provided by the author, a reader cannot make any effective opinions regarding the replacement of butter with margarine. Had the author provided additional data in terms of absolute figures and the reliability of the server reports, the reasoning behind the argument could’ve been strengthened. However, it would be naive for a reader to believe the reasoning put forth by the author on the basis of the data provided.