The author states that the solution, to adjust all showerheads to one-third of what it used to be, can save more money and increase the profits. However, the author needs to support several assumptions to make the claim more convincing.

The argument mentions the change of the showerheads flow to one-third can raise the money to the Sunnyside Tower. However, the article also mentions that there are no actual reports of water usage that the assumption may not save money to Sunnyside Tower. If the flow decline to one-third, the time to shower might also increase three times since residents need more time taking the shower to clean their body so that the prescription is no practical influence on increasing the profit. Even if the water usage truly declines and increases a lot of money to Sunnyside Tower, the residents might not willing to take the change of the water flow decline. Besides, they might against the Sunnyside Tower and asked to restore the previous flow of the water. Since the Sunnyside Tower need to calm the dispute, the Sunnyside Tower has to pay the extra money to alternate the showerhead make the Sunnyside Tower might lose more money than before.

The article also illustrates there is no many residents complain about the new change in the showerhead and only a few people complain about the low water pressure. Nevertheless, the assumption needs more evidence to support because residents might always complain about the prescription to others that the manager didn’t know. Maybe the residents figure that if they complain about the change, they might plague with the Sunnyside Tower’s pressure to move out the building so they probably upload their opinions to the Internet anonymously to decry the prescription of restricting showerheads to one-third. Since the complaint was upload on the internet, the prestige of the Sunnyside Tower might be attacked might make people decline their willingness to move to the Sunnyside Tower.

The author also tries to copy the prescription from the first three buildings to the other twelve buildings to decline the showerheads to one-third. However, the resident in the building is different from the third building to the others that their opinions might also be different, so the assumptions still fail to convince the reader. Although the first building residents agree to restrict the showerheads, the other buildings residents probably refuse to implement the prescription. The assumption to restrict showerheads needs more detail and more strong evidence to convincing all residents, otherwise, the assumption must be blocked by residents who disagree with the proposal that the proposal not only is blocked, also make their profit decline.

In conclusion, the piece assumes a lot based on very narrow evidence that the author needs to address the above assumptions to strengthen the argument.