In the United States, medical information about patients traditionally has been recorded and stored on paper forms. However, there are efforts to persuade doctors to adopt electronic medical record systems in which information about patients is stored in electronic databases rather than on paper. It is argued that storing patients’ medical records in electronic databases has several advantages over traditional paper-based record keeping.

Reducing Costs

First, the use of electronic records can help reduce costs by saving money on storing and transferring medical records. While paper records require a significant amount of storage space, electronic medical records take up virtually no space. Moreover, by having patients’ records computerized in databases, doctors can easily access the records from almost anywhere and can easily duplicate and transfer them when necessary. This costs much less than copying, faxing, or transporting paper records from one location to another.

Preventing Errors

Second, electronic medical records are crucial to reducing the chances of medical errors. Illegible handwriting, improper transcription of data, and nonstandard organization of paper records have caused errors that in some cases have had serious consequences for the patients’ health. In contrast, electronic records are associated with standardization of forms and legible computer fonts and thus minimize the possibility of human error.

Aiding Research

Third, electronic medical records can greatly aid medical research by making it possible to gather large amounts of data from patient records. It is often impractical, impossible, or prohibitively expensive to manually go through thousands of patients’ paper records housed in doctors’ offices. However, with the existence of electronic medical records, it would be simple to draw out the needed information from the medical databases because the databases are already formatted for data collection. Once in the electronic system, the records could be accessed from any research location.

The author of the article suggests that electronic medical record systems have a lot of benefits that outweigh paper keep. However, the lecturer refutes the prescriptions and list evidence to refute it.

The writer first suggests that the electronic medical record can reduce costs since doctors can easily take the record through the electronic method and it also saves money to keep from paper records. But the speaker argued that the cost of storage can not be the benefit of the electronic medical records since money is also needed to pay for electronic, also doctors will keep the original paper record as the backup so there not necessary to copy the paper record.

The author still indicates that electronic records might prevent errors because the handwriting one might have some error during the transcription. The speaker still argued that doctors still take the note in paper and the duty of the electronic record is the staff behind the doctor. If the doctor writes the wrong prescription during the handwriting, the transcription through the electronic record will still have errors.

Finally, the author mentions the research to added in the records is easier through the electronic way than the paper. Nonetheless, the lecturer against the author and says there is no benefit through the electronic method to add research since all information is private in the United States that all records need to be agreed upon by patients. Doctor need a serious and complex procedure to get the record, and they still cannot get the record since the patient block them to use.