"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author here concludes that the law which was enforced in the seaville island will play similarly in the balmer island too,without anydata or for how much time was the study done in island of seaville, he population of seaville,the number of rental stalls or much many mopeds the stalls give in a rent the main assumption of author was that the accident will occur due to the mopeds and only mopeds where used as a mode of transport so there are many assumptions that the author made which will plays an important role about the decrease in accident by 50%.

Firstly the author has not given the no of population of balmer island and the number of rental stalls of balmer island. If we dont know the population of balmer island and the number of rental stalls than how can we conclude that the accidents will reduce by limiting the mopeds rented from 50 to 25 mopeds.The author has not even stated the population of seaville or the rental companies and how much mopeds do they gave previously before the reduction law was introduced,the time period of the survey of seaville is also not given which also plays an important role for the conclusion.

Secondly, author has assumed that number of visitors in balmer island and seavile island would be same in summer.The visitors in seaville can be very less in comparison to the other seasons as the weather wont be good at that time could play a major role in the conclusion as well because the visitors would be less so the moped rentals would be less and the accident could also be less because of less polulation.So the number of population and visitors in the island plays an important role in the reduction of accidents.

Thirdly it is mentioned that the population increases by 100,000 during summer in balmer but how much was the population of balmer is not given, if the population of balmer is more and all the people who lives there has a moped then limiting the moped rented from 50 to 25 mopeds wont have a difference. If the population of balmer is more than seaville and the number of mopeds in the island is more than in seaville the number of accidents would be decreasing as the number of mopeds are more so the rental mopeds wont play as important role as the mopeds of the people who stays there.

So we cannot conclude anything from the above argument as it does not have sufficient data to prove anything as the author has made many assumptions disregarding the populations and the number of mopeds and that there are only mopeds used as a transportation facility.