On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

In this argument, the author stated that a problem which is created by popular form of transportation called 'mopeds'. He assumed that in summer season when population increase in Balmer Island, accident rate is high because of huge number of mopeds. Admittedly following the neighboring island of Seaville's strategy, by reducing number of mopeds, accident rate will be decreased. Stated in this way, the author fails to mention several key points; on the basis of it could be evaluated. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides a little credible support for the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, population increases 100,000 during summer season in Balmer Island thus pedestrians meet accident involving mopeds. Here, it is mentioned that the pedestrians meet accident. There might have two reasons, one is lacking of pedestrian's knowledge on transportation rule another is lacking driver's qualification. It must be checked that either qualified people allowed to driving or not.

Secondly, the author’s suggestion is limiting the number of rentals from 50 to 25 per day in summer season. It is not clear for what reason population increases in that particular season. Perhaps it is tourist season and it is a common perception that for more population, more vehicles are need. Without a good transport facility, tourist demand may be decreased which negatively effect in economy. Admittedly mopeds are a popular transportation way in this area. Perhaps tourist may also prefer this type of vehicle for site visiting. If mopeds rental is reduced, then tourist may take it negatively as well it also reflects in their foreign currency which imports in this tourism section. So, it is not a wise idea to reduce rental mopeds. Set aside this strategy, they may think another solution.

Lastly, the author suggests following Seaville's strategy which was enforced in last year. It seems that their target is similar but the root causes may not be same. Perhaps, the number of mopeds is unnecessarily increased in Seaville Island; it should be restricted to avoid accident. In another way, mopeds are popular in Balmer's Island but may be not in Seaville's Island. That's why it did not matter the number of mopeds in Seaville Island. By finding and evaluating the reasons of accidents, solutions should be revealed and implemented by town council in Balmer Island.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, author must provide more concrete evidence perhaps by way of reliable detail investigation that why accident occurs in Balmer Island in summer season. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about which approaches are sustainable and reduce accident rate.