"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of Happy Pancakes asserts that it would be beneficial for the company’s profit to forestall the purchase of butter and sell margarine instead in the Northeast states of the USA. To bolster his claim, he cites the small percentage of complaints received against the replacement of butter with margarine in the southwestern US. Furthermore, customers who ask for butter do not complain when provided with margarine. Though, the action plan of the manager seems quite convincing at first glance but it is based on unwarranted assumptions and weak premises. Thus, the argument is too fragile to support the plan.

Firstly, the argument readily accepts the fact that people of the southwestern US and northeastern US are alike; however, no clear evidence has been provided for the same. The dearth of evidence makes it undependable as there might be several flaws to this assumption. For example, the inhabitants of the northeastern US might be too fussy and selective about the food ingredients unlike the people of southwestern. The people of northwestern might be preparing food items in which butter plays an important role and can not be replaced by margarine. They might be quite learned and particular about the food ingredients. In this case, the entire plan fails and it will also result in a decline in the profit of Happy Pancakes. If, the argument had provided details about the demographics of northeastern and southwestern US states: their food habits and lifestyle the plan would have been strengthened.

Moreover, the argument is based on statistical percentages claiming that only 2 percent of people are having a problem with the replacement. The argument stated in this way fails to make a stolid evidence. The argument fails to inform the number of people considered under this percentage calculation. To illustrate the point, if the report considers only the statistics collected from one shop out of, say, hundred shops. This number is quite small for forming an opinion of the entire customer base. The result of this report is distorted and the plan can not be formed based on this report. The argument needs to specify the people taken into consideration and also be assured that people are well aware of the complaint registering method. The people of southwestern might not be aware of the way they can register their complaints.

In addition to this, the argument relies on the reports from the servers; here again we are not told about the capacity of the servers or the way the servers are functioning making the claim unwarranted. For example, the server might be providing no option to the customers for complaining if they are not provided with butter. Therefore, assuming that people are unaware of the difference between butter and margarine is not justifiable. The server might be having too low capacity because of which the complaints are not recorded properly. The server might also be installed in areas where there are frequent power cuts because of which the complaints are not recorded. It is of utmost importance that the manager assures that the servers are properly maintained and are reporting correctly.

To sum up, the plan of stopping the sale of butter in northeastern provinces might not turn out to be a profitable one as the entire argument is based on many flawed assumptions. To strengthen the claim author needs to provide information on server conditions and the similarity between northeastern and southwestern people. The argument also needs to properly study the report and consider the number of people considered. The plan is too weak to be implemented at this stage and hence needs further clarity and evaluations.