If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Goals can be of varying levels like individual goals, society, nation, or worldwide goal. For some achieving them through the correct path is the only way whereas there are others who would not hesitate once in doing harm to others in order to achieve their goals and desire. The goal for a student might be to score the highest score in his/her class whereas for a slave trapped in treacherous servility for years it is to be free. According to me, it is good to be determined to reach one’s goal but it is equally important that we do not go against the set norms to achieve it.

Firstly, it is admirable people dreaming big. Like it is always said one should aim for the stars then only one can at least reach the moon. But does it still remain admirable if one pursues unacceptable and unwarranted methods to achieve them? To illustrate a government job aspiring student is determined to get through the exams and help his /her society. The student believes that he/she can make great improvements and do a lot good for the welfare of the society but he is not sure enough that he/she can go through the exams. In the meantime he/she gets to know that the paper is leaked, he/she buys the paper and clears the exams. Is the method fair enough, he/she might have taken the seat of another deserving student who worked day and night. Even though the student goes up to do great to society the way used by him can not be justified in any way. Having a correct intension to serve the nation was acceptable but the route to it was not desirable.

In addition to this, it is highly possible that one’s goal clashes with another person’s goal. In this case, it is highly unwarranted that for our own good we destroy the other person. To illustrate my point, Consider Hitler whose main goal was to unify entire Germany and make it the supreme power in the entire world. He was pro Germans. He wanted more representations of Germans in all the fields of jobs as well as in bureaucracy. Though, his goal was in the goodwill of the Nazis can this be a reason enough to kill hundreds and thousands of innocent Jews. Jews were burnt alive and their home, family everything was taken away from them and they had to live in fear for many years. Hilter’s action and treatment were inhuman and is a method that by destroying a single trace of Jews they can get their lost glory back was unjustified. He could have tried other methods like educating Germans or setting up industries to generate more jobs or increased their trade routes to increase jobs for Nazis.

Not denying the fact that it becomes sometimes utmost importance to think for yourself and ignore the world in order to achieve your goal. There are people who could very proudly claim that it is important to do whatever it takes and in the path of success, one always has to make sacrifices. On reaching the top these unjustified actions would not matter much. However, the loss of satisfaction and mental peace. The inner guilt in the consensus though not in the present time but it will and definitely come back to people.

In conclusion, it is important to have goals in life and also equally important to be firm and believe that one will do all in his power to achieve the goal until it is justifiable. Harming and destroying others would spoil the entire motive and would not provide one with reason strong enough to realize their success.