The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The argument concludes that Promofoods tuna cans are not responsible for causing nausea and dizziness among its consumer. To bolster his claim the author furnishes the testing results of the returned cans. Promofoods’ chemist confirms that out of eight well-known chemicals responsible for causing nausea and dizziness, five were absent in their tested samples. As for the other three chemicals, a minimal quantity is present which is normal for any canned food. The author’s claim lacks credibility and stands on several undependable assumptions; therefore, the argument is too weak and skeptical.

First, the argument readily accepts that Promofoods’ chemist results are not dubious and artless; however, no evidence of his naiveness or honesty has been provided. The argument stated in this way can not be trusted and relied upon. The chemist might be trying to save his companies reputation and profit by refuting all the claims. Promofoods might have pressurised the chemist to make up or set up a report that does not hamper the sale of their tuna products. The company might have offered a good incentive and benefits to the chemist for his report. Until the report is cross-checked and verified by the authenticated food department of the city, the accusations should not be dropped. The author needs to assure that the report is free from any malicious intension of the company.

Moreover, the argument fails to provide any statistical data and percentage as to the number of returned cans tested. The argument does not furnish evidence about the number of cans that went under the testing process. To illustrate, if ten cans were tested out of eight million cans. The results of such testing can not be taken as a measure and assurance for the entire batch of cans. The results of such a small sample is distorted and any decision made on these results are undependable. The author requires to present the numerical data regarding the samples tested, so that a proper analysis can be done.

In addition to this, the chemist focuses only on the eight most commonly known chemicals and it has been readily assumed that no unique chemical present will have any deleterious effect on the human body. If it is found in further research that due to an unknown chemical in the cans the entire testing phase of cans can be called under question. The continued sale of the products on this claim can lead to further worsening of the case. The author needs to present assured evidence on solid grounds to let Promofoods drop the complaints.

To sum up, Promofoods, claim that it is safe for consumption can not be taken for granted. The author might have considered the merits well but the argument presented in this way fails to support his claims. The author needs to provide concrete evidences the chemist is not dubious and there is no unique element present in the cans. Further, he also has to provide us with numerical figures regarding the samples tested. Without the answer to these questions, one can not assume that Promofoods is guilty free.