Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Assessment is a way in which teachers try to understand the strengths and weaknesses of each student. It is not a process where one’s memorization capacity is measure. Through application-based assessment, a teacher can understand the gaps or loopholes in a student’s understanding of the concept and help the student further. Therefore, according to me, I would agree with the statement for two main reasons which I will further explore in this essay.

Firstly, application-based assessment helps teachers in understanding the depth of knowledge a student has been able to grasp. The application of an idea acts as a clear indicator of the extent of a student’s understanding. To exemplify, A teacher introduces the concept of friction in class. The teacher explains only the theoretical concepts and formulas with illustrative diagrams. A student might be able to grasp the concept of friction and be able to solve all the sums correctly but when somebody asks the student why does a rolling ball come to a stop? The student is perplexed and is not able to come up with an answer. This shows a deficiency in the student’s understanding of the concept and his/her failure to apply the concepts learned in class in real life. Though the student might be getting an A+ grade in-class tests but if he/she is not able to replicate and identify those forces in real life the concept of knowledge remains incomplete. The teachers need to ensure that a student can apply the concepts learned in theory and application-based assessment provides an efficient way to do so.

Moreover, many proven studies are claiming that application-based learning leads to better understanding and memory retention of the concepts. For example, if in a class students are taught about Newton’s three law of motion and then they are given a project to illustrate the same through a model. This project will not only increase the creativity of students but also will help them in understanding every detail which they might not have thought in the class. The students might come up with questions and doubts which did not cross their minds while the teacher was teaching. The teacher can easily evaluate students based on their models and further clear each students doubt leading to complete knowledge.

Admittedly, many students have a great grasping power and can understand concepts faster. They might consider the application-based method in which the same concept is repeated in different ways but, application-based methods are considered a better method to grasp and understand the functioning and mechanism to the core.

To sum up, though grasping a concept is the first step to learning anything new but if students can not apply those learned concepts in the real world it will be a failure of the entire education system . Assessing students, through application will help teachers in evaluating whether a student has understood the concept or has just mugged up the bookish text.