The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The first assumption made by the author is that the survey is the best way to examine the eating habits of the citizens of Forysthe. This is an assumption because the author assumes that people will respond to the survey with genuine intentions. If this assumption proves to be warranted, then the author has a strong argument. However there is a possibility that because this is a survey to know the lifestyle of people, some people may give answers that do not reflect their true lifestyle. For instance some people may give answers that shows that they have a very nutritious eating lifestyle which infact may not be the case. Should this prove warranted then the author argument would be in doubt.

Another assumption made by the author is that he assumes that because the sales of Kiran which is a nutritious food has been increasing in sales, then the people of Forsythe are having a very nutritious lifestyle. This is also a major assumption because the author assumes that the increase in the sales of Kiran indicates that the people are consuming Kiran in high quantities. Should this prove warranted then the author case since high consumption will ensure the people of Forysthe have adopted healthy lifestyle. However there is a high chance that the increase in the sale of Kiran may not be as a result of demand by the people of Forysthe and it may be that the demands were made by people from other towns who come to Forysthe to make purchases of Kiran. If this happens to be the case, then we cannot associate the increase in sales of Kiran to high consumption Kiran in Forysthe. Should this prove warranted, then there is question mark on the authors argument.

Another assumption made by the author is that he assumes that the decrease in sales of Sulia is an indication of healthy lifestyle. There is a reason to assume that if the sales of sulia has decreased then the people of Forysthe have channeled their consumption to eating a healthy food. The assumes that the increase in sales of Kiran is the reason for the decrease in sales of Sulia.If this is true, then the author has case. However there may be that the people of Forysthe have found other means to acquire Sulia. There is a possibility that the people of Forysthe have found methods of growing Sulia in their backyard and that the decrease in sales of Sulia is not an indication of low consumption of Sulia in Forysthe. Should this prove warranted, then the authors argument would be in doubt.