"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. It lays a claim that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Nevertheless, due to several flaws after close scrutiny, the argument has to establish some pieces of evidence to make the statement more convincing.

First of all, a problem arises in this argument that the author says the residents are more closely to government nutritional suggestions. However, this contention cannot indicate how much close to suggestions the residents are. We would never know whether the people only change one or two eating habits or even few diets recipes. Hence, without accounting for and ruling out other likely scenarios, by no means could the author contend that the citizens have adopted more healthful lifestyles.

In addition, even though the writer may be able to provide us with enough information to infer a solution to the above problem, this argument is still ill-conceived. Another problem is the increase in sales of food products containing kiran is not directly showing that this all food products are going to be eaten by Forsythe's people. Kiran might really help people to keep their health, yet it is entirely possible that the citizens buy them but do not eat them. Alternatively, this increase is because other towns' citizens will go to Forsythe to buy the food due to such food might not be produced in their towns. In order to confirm his point of view, the writer should pay close heed to as well as address the representative probability mentioned above. Only the specific data that who buy the food and eat them is the key to bolstering his advice.

Ultimately, even if the previous assumptions might turn out to be supported by subsequently detailed illustration, a crucial problem remains that the sales of sulia are decreasing, which represent people in Forsythe gradually have adopted the health habits of eating. However, this is meaningless since the few of the most healthy citizens eat it, does not mean sulia is not health. In this light, it is reasonable to cast doubts upon presumption which made by the author because presumption actually is inadequate in that if healthy people eat less some food means unhealthy, then many healthy young people do not like to eat vegetables, does it mean that vegetables are unhealthy? Pursuing this reasoning proves that the author has the responsibility to carefully consider his assumption and then provide cogent evidence to pave the way for a more reliable argument.

In hindsight, it seems precipitous for the writer to make the summary based on a sequence of problematic premises. To eliminate the implausibility of recommendation, the author must offer the more specific evidence mentioned on the above to make the argument more convincing.