“Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The article talks about the discoveries of molds of human heads and hands on kali Island and their implications. The discovery suggests a possible way of making life size kalinese sculptures. Also, the writer predicts the effect of this discovery on the value of the sculptures. but that prediction relies upon unexamined inferences. The validity of these predictions helps to evaluate the accuracy of the prediction.

First, it is questionable whether the discovered molds of heads and hands were actually used to make the life-size sculptures in kali. The molds could be used for some religious purpose. For example, there might be some annual ceremony that needed a huge amount of life-sized man, but the sculptures were actually made by hand. if this were known to be the case, we would expect no impact on collector demand, as making the sculptures did not involve the use of the molds. Alternatively, we could ask where are other parts of the mold body? if only molds of human heads and hands were found, we cannot confidently conclude that the sculptures were made by molds, since without part like muscles, limps, etc., the mold could not be used. Even if some sculptures were made by mold, we can ask what portion of them were created in that way? if only a small portion of sculptors used the molds, the value of life-size sculptures will not experience a significant decrease.

Second, the author implies that the collectors value the sculptures and statues because of the human work and sculpting techniques involved. but is that where the value of kalinese sculptures comes from? collectors might, for example, value those work because of their physical beauty, or sophistication. Replication does not necessarily mean low value. Likewise, we could ask does that value come from the special materials used? To claim the value of life-size sculptures will decrease and the value of miniature sculptures will increase, the writer needs to investigate into how people judge the value of those works.

To summarize, the passage faces two major questions. if either one of them were proved false, we could not believe the prediction made by the author.