Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human hea

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument and prediction presented in the reading passage. While it may be true that the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures on Kali Island were actually created from the molds but not sculpting tools and techniques, some additional questions still need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

The most questionable point in the argument is whether the molds of human heads and hands discovered were used to create clay statues. If one desires to argue that the clay statues were made by the help of these molds, the time in which ancient people created the molds and the clay statues should be clarified. Moreover, the author needs to answer why we can not find other mode fragments of the human body if they were actually used to create life-size clay statues. If the molds were actually created for other purposes, it would definitely undermine the reliability of the argument in the reading passage and the prediction made is not likely to come true.

The second question that we would need to answer in order to evaluate the prediction is about the difference between the life-size clay statues and the miniatures. Even though the clay statues were actually created by the molds, we could not overlook their value. These two kinds of artworks have differences intrinsically. What are the techniques Kalinese artists applied to create the molds and transform them into the clay statues? On the other hand, in the article, the author did not provide information about the quality of the miniatures. Only if they are well preserved and still in good quality, one could expect that these miniatures will increase in value.

Last but not least, to decide whether the argument is reasonable, one needs to investigate the sculpting tools found on Kali Island to clarify whether they are used in creating the miniatures rather than the clay statues. Due to the size difference between these two kinds of artworks, the tools suited for them must be very different in size. If the sculpting tools are actually very large, it is unreasonable to conclude that they were not used in creating the big clay statues. Maybe some of the statues are actually sculpted by the artists, the possibility could not be ruled out rashly.

In conclusion, there are a lot of questions need to be answered in order to justify the credibility of the argument and whether the prediction is reasonable or not.