Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

Views differ considerably when it comes to whether a person has a responsibility to obey unjust laws. While some may hold the opinion that every individual in a society should obey every law no matter what the content it has, I strongly assert that the unjust laws are something we definitely need to disobey and resist.

The most important reason for me to hold this argument is that we should put human rights in the first priority. If there is a law which is unjust and may hurt human rights, it is our responsibility to point it out and resist it. Otherwise, the unjustness will go on and might cause irreversible negative consequences continuously.

There is a bloody example in the history of Taiwan. Taiwan was once ruled by a party called KMT after World War II. KMT was a greedy political party which considered its own interest rather than the well-being of the society. From 1947 to 1987, KMT implemented martial law in Taiwan. There were lots of unreasonable laws during the martial law period and many innocent people were killed for some ridiculous reasons. After tens of years, the bloody history is still one of the most miserable memories for Taiwanese people. At that time, there were many chances for low-level government officials and policemen to insist on their own conscience and resist the unjust laws. However, no one had the courage to fight for the justice and unfeelingly let the tragedy going on. Personally, I believe that the fate of Taiwan could have been rewritten and a better political environment could be expected if someone bravely stands up to disobey and resist the unjust laws during the bloody period. Therefore, people have the responsibility to disobey unjust law since in that case, the society will have more chances to introspect.

The second reason is about caring for people who are the economic weaknesses. Some people in society don't have equal opportunity as normal citizens since they don't have enough economic support. In such cases, people are unable to have chances for good education and thus have lower possibilities to be aware of the unjust laws happen on them. If other people just ignore the unjustness and care only about their own lives, the rights of those poor people would probably be hurt to some extent. As a result, no matter the law really affects an individual or not, it is a duty for him to take care of the weakness if he has the power and ability to be aware of the injustice.

Though some people who hold different opinion may think that the society will be messed up if everyone makes their own judgment and obeys the laws they do not like, however, I believe that this situation can be prevented by education. If the kids are well-educated, they can make a good judgment to distinguish whether a law is just or not.

In conclusion, given the importance of human right and caring for the weakness, I assert that every individual in a society has a responsibility to disobey and resist unjust laws.