"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

Views differ considerably when it comes to the issue of the responsibility of corporations. While some people believe that the responsibility of a corporation is limited to make as much money as possible, others assert that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Both of the opposite argument appears to be somewhat convincing and stand to reason as there is no restriction written in law, yet I strongly assert that corporation should have responsibility on the stable social development and environmental protection.

The main reason that corporations have a duty to contribute to the environment is that the environment sacrifices a lot during the development of a corporation in different aspects. There is usually a contradiction between the ecology and the interests of corporate executives. For instance, there is one big technological corporation in Taiwan which establish its new factories last year. The new factories were unfortunately built in habitats of a precious frog species. It is definitely unfair for the human being to unlimitedly expand its wealthy without taking care of other living matter on earth. As a result, despite the economic development, the corporation also has responsibility for the protection of the environment.

The second reason is about the people who work for the corporation. Nowadays, people go to work and try their best to finish the projects not only because of the temptation of salaries. Instead, employees care about the success or failure of the corporation emotionally. My father is an employee of an old company which has a history for about fifty years. He once told me that he actually view the company as his second family. The colleagues are like his brothers and sisters. If the corporations only pay attention to their own interests but not the health of the employees, it is immoral for them to benefit from the sacrifices of the employees.

Last but not least, there are tremendous advantages for corporations to ensure the well-being of a society. For example, since the fluctuation of society is one of the fickle factors of management, the stable development of a society can enhance the possibility of a sustainable development of a corporation. On the other hand, a responsible corporation could establish a higher reputation and thus attracts more customers.

In conclusion, though it is straightforward that the corporations always pursue their own interests and try to make as much money as possible, they still have the responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.