Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Although some people may think that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint, I can not totally agree with this point of view. It may seem logical that one could evaluate his own opinion thoroughly and strengthen the reliability of the argument by being forced to defend the idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others. However, I believe that it is not always the case for the following reasons.

The first reason is that the claim is based on the assumption that defending an idea against the opposite viewpoint is the only way for one to discover the value of that idea. However, there are actually many ways for one to strengthen his argument and make it more reasonable. For instance, one can go over and clarify every assumption he had made before reaching the conclusion. During the evaluation, he should search the literature carefully and try to find as many pieces of evidence for his argument as possible. Second, if the argument can be tested by doing some real experiments, the credibility of the argument can be unraveled clearly. Based on these scientific procedures, I think that the truth can be found more easily than just arguing with other people.

The second reason why I disagree with the claim is that it made a rush assumption which does not apply well in all circumstances that the one who holds an opposing viewpoint is convincible. There are irrational people who do not make their judgments logically. For instance, recently in Taiwan, there is a serious debate about whether homosexual people have the right to get married. Some people insist that the homosexuals don’t deserve this human right make their argument based on their religious and believe that everyone, no matter what his or her religion is, should follow the rule made by the head of their religion. This statement is obviously illogical but those people just refuse any deeper discussion.

In conclusion, I believe that the claim that the best indicator to evaluate whether an argument is reasonable or not is not its ability to convincing people who hold the opposite viewpoint. Since there are many different scientific ways for us to test an argument and the people with the opposing viewpoint are not always rational, we should always try to find the best method for the evaluation which best suits the situation we faced.