Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the miniatures statues are more valuable than life-size sculptures in Kalinese Island owing to the fact that ancient artists had used molds to create a sculpture. However, the premises upon which he/she puts his/her claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that archeologist has discovered molds of hands and heads of human, which show ancient artists had not been skilled in creating sculptures. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether ancient artists just sculpted heads and hands. One point that should be considered is that creating a real size of the sculpture is perplexing and intricate and if ancient artists had used molds for heads and hands, they should have used molds for other parts of the human body. Maybe they used heads molds just in order to make a sculpture more real or similar to human. It is also important to say that create molds need a noticeable skill, which perhaps proves that ancient artists were adroit enough to create statues.

The author also asserts that molds could only use for life-size sculptures. Although it might seem tenable at the face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if ancient people or artists did not use molds for producing other goods. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just mentions molds as using for sculptures. In fact, there is a possibility that ancient people in Kalinese Island used those molds for other purposes like heads' molds for hat or hands for gloves and so forth.

Finally, as set forth by the author the Kalinese miniatures were completely different in style and used tools and techniques in order to sculpt. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if the number of miniatures was more than life-size sculptures. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe create miniatures statues were easier than real size sculpting and ancient artists prefer to create more miniatures. Moreover, perhaps collectors found more miniatures in Kalinese Island than real sculptures and want to make a profit through these miniatures.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.