Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the major reason of extinction of mammal species is human's hunting when they arrived in Kaliloe Island 7000 years ago. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that humans arrived in Kaliloe by 7000 years ago and by 3000 years many species extinct enormously. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there are many reasons that could result in extinction and the author does not provide any information about extinction. In fact, climate change, the paucity of foods, natural disasters like earthquake or flood and so forth, may play a consequential role in the extinction of mammal species. Indeed, there is no cogent reason to prove allegedly that human intervention is the only factor of mammal extinction.

The author also attributes that archaeologists have found majorities of a site that represent bones of fishes and prove that early humans relied on fish and hunting. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since there would many reasons for remaining of bones. Indeed, there is a possibility that fishes died because of water contamination or drought. These two factors are enough to die out the population of any species. Alongside that maybe ecological mutation be the other reason for fishes' bones, who knows? Even if human relied on fishes, it is not logical to assume that they feed on fish for thousands of years.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author researchers have discovered simple tools like stone knives that early people used for hunting. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged since there might be another purpose to use stone knives. Maybe they used this tools in order to protect themselves against attacks, or maybe religious value, who knows? Also, we all know that hunting needs many skills and the author does not provide any data about early humans' skills. Maybe they did not have enough skill to hunt and used stone knives just for other purposes.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption, the presence of which could strengthen the author's claim.