The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author of the issue highlights that a nation's greatness could be found in general well-being of people in any given society rather than the success of artists, scientists, and rulers. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that despite the importance of artists or scientists achievements, the welfare of people play a consequential role when it comes to the greatness of a nation. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, there is no doubt that artists or scientists are the symbols of success in any given nation and with their achievements provide an opportunity for a society to make a progress day in day out. But they could not guarantee the well-being of a society. Broadly speaking, the greatness of a society is summarized in its people and their welfare and if they live in a harsh situation in spite of great artists and scientists, hardly can we named any society a great nation. As a tangible example, there are vast majorities of scientists and artists in Iran with remarkable achievements but it is not logical to named Iran a great society owing to the paucity of the well-being of people. To elucidate more on this issue, if the welfare of people is a great indication of greatness or success, there is no doubt that achievements of artists or scientists could be a sign of greatness as well.

Another salient point in corroborating my stance is that it is incumbent upon the government to help improve the well-being of people. If we take a minute to ponder over it, it is human's right to live freely with a sense of freedom and the government or leaders should provide fertile ground for people to live without any difficulty. In this situation, no one could neglect the contribution of the government to the greatness of a society. As a vivid example, the United States government always tried to pay tribute to its humans and support them vigorously. In this case, we could call American society a great nation. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that there are many key factors that can play a crucial role in the well-being of people like leaders or the government. So, not only can we name the society a great nation by its government efforts but also can name the government a great success.

However, what was alluded to above can't b overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, scientists and artists are the better symbols of greatness because they have always made an effort to help the society make a progress. For example, scientists have always had incentive and motivation to push the society forward by their discoveries or artists bend over backward to introduce the culture of a nation beyond the borders of the country. Although these achievements might be trivial or not being flamboyant, the startling fact which flabbergasted me is that scientists and artists or rulers are the best indication of success and the greatness of a nation.