Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that family in every given society play a pivotal role in people's lives and every mature human being has to admit that success is a blank dream without having a good family. Stemming from this fact, a relevant question that is a moot point is whether in today's hectic city of life extended family play a less important role than in the past time. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. I am, however, to a great extent of the conviction that today with the advent of new technology, which has changed our lifestyle dramatically, family lose its importance to the extent that we can see a gap vividly among members of families. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, although new technologies make our lives more convenient and help us to make a progress day in day out, they create a serious gap between families and make them less important. Generally phrased, gone are those days that family members gathered in a reunion and talked about various matters of life in order to get informed of many things that happen to them. As a tangible example, today's children have used to spend their precious time with electronic advice like a smart phone, tablet, the internet and so forth. In fact, they allocate less time to the family and they are not willing to get informed of their family, uncles, aunts, cousins and other members of a family. In such case, can not only people especially children grow maturely but also can't enhance their social skills in order to be the sociable person. To elucidate more on this issue, people in the past knew their importance of each other and bend over backward to help and address each other's difficulties when they ran into a huge problem and faced trials and tribulations.

Another reason that should not go unnoticed is that the living situation in the past was better than now and human beings live conveniently. To put it in another word, nowadays people are confronting inflation and economic recession in the society, which make living condition harder. Indeed, in the past, people prefer to live in a large family with more children but now people are inclined toward the opinion that the fewer children, fewer expenses in the life. Going into the depth, this idea of individuals represent the fact that to the extent large family was more important in the past. However, in today's hectic world people prefer to live in an extended family owing to the crowds of advantages it has like helping children to rise up their social activities, not spend their time with phone or tablet, no getting online and so forth. In this situation, people can joy their lives and share their ideas and lead a healthy life.