Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masontown, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masontown. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that living in Leeville city is much more beneficial for human beings owing to the fact that not only will people not suffer from illnesses but also will be able to lead a healthy life than living in Masontown City. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that workers in Leeville take fewer sick days than Masonton workers. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether working situations and conditions are equal in both cities. One point that should be considered is that the author does not provide any information about working environment and the situation as a whole in both cities. In fact, there is a possibility that workers in Leeville work fewer hours than workers in another city. Or maybe workers do not work completely and even pass the buck. It is also important to say that perhaps employees in Masontown work in several places in order to accumulate a hoard of money.

The author also embraces the idea that according to the population size, people in Leeville rarely face stress-related illness. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if not having stress could support the superiority of Leeville city. One of the main, if not the only, the problem with the premise is that the author does not mention anything about the population size in both cities. Indeed, maybe Leeville city is a crowded place than Masontown, although Leeville is a small town. The Masontown City is the big city, so, people are able to find a suitable remedy for their stress. Or perhaps citizens in Masontown do great works for the development of their city, which bring more stress until the task get perfectly done. Moreover, maybe people in Leeville suffer from other diseases, which might be worse than stress in Masontown City.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author people in Leeville city are able to relax and unwind. So, it provides an opportunity for settlements to shun unhealthy life. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if Leeville is full of facilities and it will fulfill people's needs and recreations. One point that should not go unnoticed is that a city should be full of facilities and hobbies in order to help citizens enjoy the relaxed pace of life. Maybe Leeville is just known for its fresh air and tranquility without any facility and technology because the author just hints at lower illness. Nowadays, vast majorities of people prefer to live in cities with the higher level of technologies, which can provide them a relaxed life.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.