Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

The 20th and 21th centuries are characterized by all the momentous changes, which have been made in human's lives. Perhaps the most milestone of these two centuries are the rules that any given society enact for its members and expect to behave based on them. Various points of view which are germane to the matter being discussed brings us to the moot question as to whether in today's hectic city of life, the rules in all societies are stricter and more difficult to obey. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that nowadays people in the society are freer than past time and now they do everything they want without being criticized for their behavior. The following paragraphs will aptly substantiate my personal stance.

To commence with, it is established beyond doubt that welfare of people living in every given society is of utmost importance and members of a society always face a challenge when it comes to strict rules by the society, since the dawn of civilization. Generally phrased, it is the people's right to act freely in the society and if a nation legislates strict rules, it might have negative effects on the behavior of individuals. As a tangible example, in the past societies expect students to receive excellent scores and always kept in step with their peers when it comes to competition. In such situation, not only will students lose their interest toward higher education but also will increase dropout rate drastically. In fact, we have to give people the right to act based on their own logic but not far from general rules in the society. To elucidate more on this issue, today, human beings have more freedom and this freedom could provide an opportunity for any given society to make a progress day in day out.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is the fact that as humans' understanding and appreciation go further, it is necessarily needed to give people more freedom and let them think and act freely. If we take a minute ponder over it, people in the past did not have the right to argue about a political or economic situation and if they did so, they might be confronted specific punishment. But nowadays, people castigate and blame even political leaders regularly. The startling fact that flabbergasted me is the fact that people say everything they want arrogantly without being arrested by the government. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of details that today's rules are not stricter than past time and hardly humans complain about difficult rules.

However, every coin has two sides. In today's hectic world, many societies ratify stricter rules than past in order to control and handle the situation. For instance, today's governments are hungry for power and ambitious. So, they do not respect to the people's right because they are of the opinion that power is in people's hands and stricter rules will circumscribe their freedom. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my personal view.