Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The speakers states that, collectors predict more value to miniatures than to the life-size sculptures. This prediction is based on several information which in essence negate it. To begin with, the speaker does not establish a relationship between discovery of molds of human heads and hands with life-size clay statues of human figures. How is it possible that a discovery of bady parts can lead to the conclusion that Kalinese artists used molds of whole bodies? Additionally, there is no support for the claim that Kalinese artists did not use any sculpting tools and techniques?

Further more, the speaker states that few sculpting tools have been found. It further claims that this is the reason for the miniature statues to be abstract. It deducts based on unsupported claim that molds couldhave only be used for the life-size sculptures. Why the molds cannot be equally used for both life size and miniature sculptures? This, however, does not mean that they have not been used? The future value of the life-size sculptures cannot be determined based on the possibly incomplete archeological findings.

Finally, the prediction states that life-size sculptures will loose their value and it is in contradiction to the statement that collectors prize life-size statues. Conclusion that molds have been used only for life-size sculptures is unsupported. I remain unconvinced that collectors predictions are accurate since they are based on unsubstaintiated claims. The claim that in order to depict bodies with high precision requires complete molds is a clear assumption. There is no support in the speaker's claims that collectors prediction is reasonable.

In summation, it is clear that the value of life-size sculptures and miniature size sculptures cannot be easily determined based on the weak arguments from the Kali island. The speaker is overgeneralizing one instance of ancient artisans using molds to create full-size sculptures and trying to apply this all sculptures.