Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursdaybinstead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy would help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Friday and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author puts forth an argument that the recent switching of the company X from a 5-day workweek to 4-day workweek would prove beneficial to the company. For supporting this argument he has provided evidences like the morale of the employees would boost by the reduction in the commute to office as well as shutting down of office on friday. However, on deeper scrutiny, the argument is found to be based on various unwarranted assumptions. Author must corroborate these assumptions with credible justification in order to bolster his claim.

Firstly, the author assumes that the morale of the employees would increase with the 4-day workweek. It is quite possible that 10 hours per day would prove to be very hectic for the employees. If their commute is long say 2 hours per day on average, they would only get 12 hours for themselves at home which may curtail their time for entertainment and family. This may negatively affect their moral as they won't have the time enough to spend with their family on the daily basis. So, the author must put forth solid surveys of the employees showing that they are willing to have 4-day workweek. The survey must be representative and unbiased. This would help us negate the assumption of the employees morale getting boosted with the new working hours.

Coming to the second issue of increasing profit with the new working schedule of the company. As "Human beings cannot eat all the three meals at one time of the day", likewise, a person cannot accomplish the entire work of several distinct periods in fewer big stretches. There is a limit to which human mind can focus and efficiently work. After that limit, human being need to relax and take breaks to recharge their brain in order to make a comeback to work again. The author by saying that the profit of the firm would increase with the new work time-table makes enormous assumptions like the employees would be able to have the same productivity like that in the 5-day workweek. If this assumption does not come out to be true, the argument would be negatively affected. The profit of the company might go down instead of increasing due to the flagging productivity of the employees working for long hours.

Also, the author does not provide any significant justification for how significantly would the commute time of the employees decrease. The author assumes this would increase the morale of the employees, but what if the commute time of most of the employees turn out to be a insignificant factor. It is quite possible, for example, that the employees live close by the company ofice due to reasons like the office being in proximity to a good residensial location etc. The author must negate this possibility so that this assumption turns into a credible fact.