Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy would help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Friday and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Company X claims that switching to a 4-day workweek instead of 5-days will help to increase the company's profit by shutting down the offices on Friday and boost employee morale. Also reducing commuting time to and from work each week. However, the proposal has some flaws and will not be accepted if it fails to answer some critical assumption. Moreover, the conclusion dismisses some assumption which is important to draw an accurate conclusion.

Firstly, the company X proposed that switching to 4-days workweek instead of five days will boost employee morale because will get one day extra for resting. But, 4-days workweek employee will have to work 10 hours per day which means almost 12-hours per day. As a result, the employee will not get enough time to spend with his family which will adversely affect employee and family, not morale. Moreover, 10 hours of work employee will be exhausted, less concentrating and fatigue in work.

The second flaw is, by shutting down the office on Friday will reduce the company's expense associated with it. But, it can be clearly seen that the total hour of office is the same in a week. Moreover, the expense related to the office like electricity expense, snacks expense etc. will be the same. So, this will increase profit for the company will not be realistic and highly flawed.

The third issue is, reducing commuting time to and work each week may be right. But, after work of 10-hours and nearly 2-hours of a path from home to office or office to home, anyone will be tired. As a consequence, the employee will feel lethargy in the office which result is less efficient in work.

While the overall hypothesis was interesting but, by examining various fact to conclude that the proposal required more information to validate the proposal.