Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The perfect working hours regulation balancing the leisure and professional life has always been a debatable issue. Pioneered by the Ford Company, it has been decided in the beginning of the 20th centry that, working 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday is best for all. However, many companies adjust the working schedule according to the needs and benefits of the particular market or industry. Similarly in the argument topic, Company X has switched the working schedule to a 4-day workweek. In this case, the employees will be working for 10 hours per day, not 8 hours.

Even though Company X claims that this program is more profitable, there are many questions to ask. First, one must know what does Company X do. Is it a factory? Is it a company mainly focused on importing or exporting? For example, if it is a factory running textile engines, then it must be profitable for them to work 4 days only. Because each textile engine runs errands for the first couple of hours after it is switched on. If the product they provide is not met with high level of demands, then working for 4 days but for 10 hours will definitely be better for them. However, if this company is importing goods from abroad, then it definitely is not a good idea to shorten 5-day workweek schedule, since dealing with customers or providers every day and answering their questions as soon as possible is an important part of the job. The new policy of the company might even result in losing the precious customers or providers in the end.

Furthermore, another issue to question is the transportation service. Does the company provide transportation service for its employees? If so, reducing the workweek from 5 to 4 would be more benefitable for the company, since they would be cutting the expenses for the additional day. Also, whether the company pays for the meals of the workers is to be questioned, just like the transportation service. If the company provides these two, then reducing the days might be increasing profit.

Another point that has to be made is the fact that working for extra 2 hours per day, even though they would be working for 4 days only, would be counted as extra hours at work. Which means that the company has to pay more for each hour the workers spend at the workplace. According to the laws in many countries, employers has to pay more for additional hours at work, after 8 hours. If the company is going to obey the rules, then the salaries are going to be extremely high, compared to the previous payments. In this case, the new policy is definitely not going to be profitable for them.

Moreover, even though it is preassumed in the argument that 4-day workweek would be boosting employee morale, there is no additional support for this assumption. Did the company made a survey and found out what the employees want? Is it really the case that the employees prefer working for 10 hours incessantly? Or rather, would they prefer coming to work for another day per week. The argument does not state any research, though. Another point that is not clear in the argument is the salaries of the employees.

One more question to ask is where this company is located. Is it located in a small town or in a big, developed city. Do employees spend hours in the traffic jam of the city? Or, since it is established in a small town, do they just walk a couple of minutes and reach their work place? These factory are important in assuming employees’ preferance, however, these are not provided in the argument too.