Company X has just switched to a four day workweek, mandating that employees work ten hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of eight hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Company X’s shift to a four day workweek rests on two key claims; that the reduction in running costs from shutting down the premises will increase profits and that the reduced commute will improve employee morale. The first claim is dubious at best, as it rests on a number of assumptions concerning employee productivity and sources of profit that need fruther investigation. The following claim, that the daily commute of its workers will see improved morale suffers from related issues. It appears unsubstantiated, and there are much more practical measures that could be implemented. Lastly, there are a number of implications for Company X should these assumptions prove mistaken.

The first claim made by Company X, that a ten hour work day is better overall for the company employees rests solely on two assumptions. Firstly, it is buttressed by the belief that the productivity of employees working five, eight hour shifts, will translate comfortably to four, ten hours shifts is difficult to sustain. Further, Company X has not outlined any measures to expand breaks accordingly. When taken in conjuction with Company X’s identification of the commute as an issue, the transit to and from work is likely to become all the more arduous following consecutive ten hours shifts, than it is it following an eight hour working day. Another key belief of Company X is that their ceasing of operations on a Friday will not impact profitability. Given the rarity of a four day working week among contemporary companies, it is specious to think that there will not be significant monetary loss from not being open for business, when the vast majority of competitors and customers will be. Lastly, the company outlined how shutting down for Friday will save money, and increase profits. Surely, if the costs of the Company X’s location and buildings are so great, a more reasonable move would be to investigate cheaper locations. Company X does not provide any evidence of having done so.

The second position taken by the Company is that employee morale will be improved by reducing the number of commutes the Company X workforce have to make. This appears to be yet another instance of Company X adopting measures that are extreme, when more feasible options exist. Again, it must be stated that we are blind to Company X’s prior efforts to improve morale. The sheer volume of other ways in which employees can increase morale merit closer inspection. Firstly, no significant investigation into the cause of declining employee morale is alluded to. This appears to be an unsubstantiated assumption on the part of Company X. Secondly, if the length of the commute is such a burden on employees, the prospect of remote working seems like the ideal salve for this irritation. If this is not possible, surely adjusting working hours to allow for employees to start and finish later could be implemented.

There are a number of ominous implications should these assumptions behind Company X’s new measures prove unfounded. Firstly, business profits may sharply decline, owing to the opportunities lost from not operating on a Friday. For reasons already discussed above, there are a number of reasons for Company X to be slow to warm to such a prospect. Secondly, should these measures rest on an improper diagnosis of the cause of low morale, these issues may get worse. Lastly, should productivity decline, it may compound pre-existing issues both stated, in terms of morale, and implied, with regards to Company X’s profitability.

This response has dissected the measures being outlined by Company X, and has outlined how their measures rest on a number of faulty and unfounded assumptions about their work force. Further, the negative consequences of these measures, and the implications of them should they prove false, were discussed.