In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This response will examine the assumptions that are advanced by the Mason City government's argument that the Mason River necessitates investment in its riverside recreational facilities due to its newfound cleanliness. Further, the negative implications of these assumptions proving false will also be assessed. There are two key assumptions which underlie the city government's belief that there are valid reasons for greater investment in riverside recreational facilities. Firstly, there is the implied assumption that water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) are activities that would be carried out on the Mason City River. Secondly, there is the implication that there will be a timely relationship between the river's cleanliness and its use by Mason City Residents.

Mason City's surveys articulate clearly its residents passion for water sports as a recreational activity. Further, Mason City identifies its own body of water, the Mason City River, as a possible location for these pursuits. The argument depends on this presumption, because it does not attempt to query the commonality between water sports writ large and those which are feasible on a river. The assumption that activities carried out presumably on the ocean, or large body of water would translate comfortably to an urban river is problematic. While it must be conceded that it is entirely possible that a limited version of swimming, boating and fishing could flourish on the Mason City River, the city government has failed to adequately highlight this connection. It is entirely feasible that a break from Mason City itself may be implicit in the city's resident's love for water sports; such a possibility is unexplored by the government's surveys. The implication of this is that the significant budgetary allocations to rejuvenating the river could be wasted. Another implication of this failure to appropriately explore the roots of its resident's pastimes could further reinforce previously popular resorts located outside of Mason City, which would only sharpen the financial impact of this assumption being invalid.

Secondly, the Mason City Government appear to rest much of their case for investment in riverside recreational facilities on the assumption that there would be a corresponding increase in the use of the river for recreational purposes. The overarching argument that the river deserves investment relies on this assumption, because it provides incentive for greater investment. This assumption rests on a substantially weak premise that government promises and plans to clean up the Mason River engender adequate levels of trust from the City's residents. While this is indeed another matter to be resolved by polling, the Government's failure to substantiate its own assumption especially when the river has an unpleasant reputation for poor quality and scent poses a number of damning implications if this assumption proves baseless. Firstly, should the clean up efforts not satisfy the often unrealistic expectations of the public, the prospect of riverside recreational activities will become even more slight. What's more, the Mason City government does not appear to countenence the prospect of repeated clean up efforts, as recreational water sports can often pose ecological risks through waste and other forms of pollution.

The argument of the Mason Government that their City River deserves greater investment in its recreational potential problematic owing to the government's assumptions about the translateability of certain water sports to an urban setting and the motives of those who rate water activities highly. The Government further assumes that an increase in cleanliness will have a proportional increase in usage, and that this justifies investment. Both have been demonstrated to rest on faulty logic and both possess significant negative implications due to these assumptions potentially being unwarranted. These implications include budgetary mismanagement, reinforcing current patterns of tourism, and reinforcing resident's beliefs as to the river's cleaniness, and potentially damaging their level of trust in the City's government.