In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument advanced by Mason City government is that the love of water sports by the city's residents can be capitalised upon if the under-utilized and unhygenic Mason City river is given strong investment both in improving quality and maintaining riverside recreational activities. This argument rests on a number of unfounded assumptions, the implications of which are onerous, given their weak substantiation.

The first major assumption made by the Mason City government is that residents will want to use the river for swimming boating and fishing. There are two key difficulties with this assumption. The most apparent of these is that the proposed efforts to clean the river will successfully counter the negative impression of the river created by multiple complaints from residents over the years. These complaints undoubtedly formed a broader impression that the river is not fit for human use, let alone recreation. Ergo, improvements in river quality will likely take considerable time to translate to a genuine desire to use the river for water sports. The second assumption is that Mason City residents will not opt to travel outside of Mason City for water recreational activities. This is difficult to support. It is completely plausible that Mason City residents see water sports as a prime objective of any vacation, as such, it is much more tempting to travel elsewhere for much better, and distinctly less urban water recreational locations.

The second critical assumption the city government relies upon in advocated for greater funding for riverside recreational facilities is the belief that upon greater investment the riverside recreational facilities will generate greater usage. A key unstatated assumption of the City's proposal is that this is a predicted turn of events, rather than an proportionate investment to an in demand public service. The state city government is operating off the presumption greater supply will engender greater demand. This logic doesn't hold true. It is false, because there is no actual stated demand. There is evidence given by the City government that suggests this is a need that must be met by public resources. It is merely a belief built on supposition. Following on from this, another key assumption of the Mason City residents is in effect a misinterpretation of their demands. The City government acknowledges that there have been consistent complaints as to water quality. While they do intend to clean it up, they further appropriate resources to developing recreational facilities; this is public money best allocated to river cleanliness. The city government's implicit arguments that concurrent investment should occur in both river upkeep and increasing recreational facilities is a malapropriation of the public's will.

The implications of this argument advanced by the Mason City government are severe. Firstly, the City government will risk significant public finance through the incorrect allocation of funds, which will hinder development of other key areas of City spending, such as healthcare, safety and combatting poverty. Following this, the assumptions of the City government imply that they are unable to adequately interpret the intentions and desires of their citizenry, and instead rely on supposition and prospective demand at the expense of voiced concerns. In extension of this, the reasons advanced to increase investment in recreational facilities demonstrates a capacity to try and infer demand rather than a sober appraisal of the needs, wants and desires of the Mason City residents. Finally, a concerning implication is the failure of the Mason City government to adequately communicate with their residents. At no point is any evidence given that the public's passion for water sports would translate to greater usage of the river if it was cleaned.

This response has discussed the argument by the Mason City government concerning greater investment in riverside recreational facilities. It has critically examined two key assumptions. Firstly, that the residents would use the river in their recreational activities, and secondly, that the belief that greater investment will garner greater demand. These assumptions are largely unsupported, and raise a number of worrying implications. These are that the City misinterprets public demand, that the government cannot appropriately identify need, that government officials are willing to infer rather than evidence opportunities and that they are unwilling or unable to figure out the genuine needs of their residents.