A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how those examples shape your position.

Write your response here.

This response response will discuss the extent to which to the belief that a nation should have a standardized school curriculum for first and second level education is problematic. In doing so, it will focus on two key arguments which will be buttressed by specific examples which demonstrate why such a move would be disadvantageous. Firstly, the standardising of formative education is problematic owing to the variety of learning styles, academic strengths and career objectives second level students possess. Secondly, the ability of individual school districts, cachements and zones to tailor their students learning outcomes, within reason is critical to student success.

Individuals in first and second level education are unique and dynamic, experience significant change in their concept of self, and their personal values. their educational environments, be it at school or elsewhere needs to recognise and faciliate this, so that school goers may engage in meaningful personal development and exploration of their own interests, talents and abilities. The requirement of all students studying the same national curriculum amounts to a blatant rejection of this hard fought societal truth. There are a number of specific circumstances in which adopting this would damage educational attainment and achievement. implicit within this regulatory prescription is the belief that by one metric of evaluation student success can be graphed, and that by one courseload student curiousity can be satiated. Neither is true. One who masters art and music perceives reality altogether differently than another who specialises in science and math. The implementation of the aforementioned recommendation would see society essentially make a value judgement on the benefits to be gained from one particular tranch of academics over another. This is an unnecessary step into zero-sum rationales. They are not, nor need they be mutually exclusive. Further, the same national curriculum regardless of personal ambition and interest excludes the possibility of building an innovative and tailored educational experience. This is particularly disadvantageous, because very often the style of thinking with which one engages in philosophy, history or the Arts generally can profoundly assist in the study of all sciences-and vice versa. This national recommendation can hinder growth in both. However the damage this recommendation can pose to national educational standards can be limited by further expounded of what exactl such a national curriculum will contain, and how wide or narrow it will be.

In modern, multicultural societies, the ability of different states, counties and cantons to tailor their curricula is critical, as the demographic, political and historical composition of these areas may deviate strongly from the national norm. For instance, an area with a history of horrific secterian or racial violence, such as Belfast or Rural Alabama, may need to provide greater detail in history relating to these topics than a national curriculum may allow. The ability of individual educational units or cachements to develop a sub-national curriculum to meet the needs of societal prosperity is crucial. The implementation of a national curriculum particularly damages this, as what may feature across the national level may be illfitting to individual districts. There are a number of specific circumstances in which the implementation of a national curriculum governing education until college is deeply problematic. For example, Catalonia in Spain, in order to placate restive and violent spasms of succession will afford particular focus to their regional heritage, language and culture. The implementation of a national curriculum would almost certainly not allow for the teaching of regional languages nationally, given their small utility outside of Catalonia. Despite this, the idea of a national curriculum regulating education until college can be made more suitable to conditions such as the above if there is further exploration of particular national goals in terms of education which themselves could encompass particular regional issues such as historical racism, secterianism, or successionist histories.

This response has outlined why the belief that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum is problematic, owing to two key reasons. Firstly, that people in first and second level education have varied and often individualised learning styles and objects and secondly, that the orderly functioning and prosperity of a nation often hinges on individual regions being able to tailor their curricula to meet certain pressing societal needs such as coming to terms with problematic historical influences and events. While keeping this in mind, this response has outlined how such a belief can be made more palatable through greater exploration of its impacts.