The following appeared as part of a promotional campaign to sell advertising on channels provided by the local cable television company.

“Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. Recently Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications, and over a subsequent 30-day period, the dealership’s sales rose 15% over sales the previous month. In addition, the company’s customer ratings show that people who purchase new cars from Adams are more satisfied with teh quality and performance of their vehicles than are car dealership customers on average. Customer satisfaction has been found to be a key factor in positive word-of-mouth publicity.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This response will address Cable Communications Corp. claim that they are the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. Their argument rests on a number of faulty and problematic assumptions. Firstly, that their success can be imputed from a single 15% rise in sales over the previous month. Secondly, that advertising with them leads to higher quality and performance satisfaction. These assumptions and their implications are inherently weak, and involve a number of terminal implications for the argument Cable Communications advance.

Cable Communications Corporation imply that they are the key to increasing sales, as a single company with which they have dealt with in the recent past has seen 15% increase over a thirty day period. Superficially this indicates success, but such a belief collapses under brief examination. Cable Communications Corp. fails to contextualise this rise in sales entirely. Could this sales rise have occurred in the holiday season, as part of a broader increase in sales generally experienced across the economy? Perhaps. Did Adams Car Dealership’s sales figures consistently grow, or atleast maintain this 15% increase? Unlikely. One cannot say definitively, as Cable Communications willfully or otherwise omits vital information that can make or break their key claim. Cable Communications Corp. can validate this claim through a variety of means. They can release yearly sales figures from Adams Car Dealership, they can show how other external factors alluded to above did not factor into the rise in sales or highlight in greater detail the link between their advertising and Adams Car Dealership’s sales. By doing none of these, one of two key Cable Communications assumptions is left unfounded. The implications for the argument are clear; dealing with Cable Communications Corp. doesn’t necessarily lead to higher, or increased sales, given their failure to fully discuss their track record.

Cable Communications Corp claim ownership of the increase in customer satisfaction ratings concerning quality and performance. They do so through baldly stating that their advertising is responsible for this development. At face value, it is difficult to grasp how advertising may positively alter customer feelings regarding quality and perforance. After all, quality and performance are factors which appear to be distinctly with in the control of the car dealership. It can be fairly argued that the mechanics and technical personnel of Adams Car Dealership have much more to do with vehicle quality and performance, than Cable Communications’ advertising. As such, one could speculate that Cable Communications is attempting to appropriate success in which they had no part. However, there is a range of evidence with which Cable Communications could support such an argument. They could include explicit customer and dealership testimony as to how their advertisements helped Customers grasp their performance and quality of vehicles on sale, or how their marketing campaigns enabled Dealerships to elucidate the superior performance and quality of their vehicles. Unfortunately, Cable Communications company do neither, and this has determental implications for their argument. Chiefly, Cable Communications through this unfounded assumption imply that they might appropriate a clients own, often hard earned success, for their gain.

This response has outlined Cable Communications Corporation’s argument that they can deliver better profitablility through advertising and an increase in customer satisfaction with regards to performance and quality. These two assumptions are left largely unfounded by Cable Communications. Despite this, there is a range of evidence that they could involve to ballast these claims, yet they fail to do so. This has onourous implications for the argument, as it implies that their sales record is dubious at best, and that they will claim success which lies solely with the dealership for their own gain.