"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

In the memo, the director of a large group of hospital states that they should use the Ultraclean hand soap. The director has come to this conclusion based on the report submitted by the hospital that shows the use of Ultraclean hand soap reduces the cases of patient infection by 20 percent. However, while the conclusion stated by the director might hold water, but it rests upon several unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three pieces of evidence must be addressed.

First of all, the Ultrasoap, which was manufactured in the laboratory, shows the results which produced the 40% greater reduction in harmful bacteria. However, the result shown here is too vague. The director does not state which type of harmful bacteria is killed by the UltraClean hand soap. It might be possible that this soap kills the bacteria which are not prominent in the hospital. There are many types of harmful bacteria found in the world, and this is possible given that 40% of the bacteria which are killed are not found in the hospital. Thus if this scenario holds true, the conclusion drawn by the director is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the director has cited the result that the "concentration solution of extra strength" of Ultrasoap kills 40 percent of more bacteria. Nevertheless, during the test, they used regular strength UltraClean. So it may be possible that this regular strength UltraClean cannot be able to kill as much as germs as extra strength solution. So, the use of this solution might be proven insignificant. Thus if the above case is valid, the director's claim is not warranted, and his argument is not overly persuasive.

At last, the director has stated that the use of UltraClean hand soap resulted in a 20 percent reduction of cases of patient infection. Nevertheless, the other conditions of the hospitals are not clearly stated. It might be probable that these hospitals did not get many patients during the survey. So, the decrease in 20 percent of infected patient cases due to the decrease in the overall population of the patients. It is also possible that the given hospital in the group also adopted some other measures other than the use of UltraClean hand soap to decrease patient infection cases, which is not stated here. Thus, if any of the scenarios have merit, then the director's claim does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several indefensible assumptions. If the director is able to provide more evidence for the above three assumptions(perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it is possible to evaluate that the decrease in cases of the patient infection is the direct consequence of the use of UltraClean hand soap.