The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple county despite their concern for overdevelopment, predicts that putting restriction on existing farmland would result in a significant increase in housing prices in the county, before this measure could be passed certain questions are needed to be answered by the council.

The first question to be asked is why is there not enough data from the two counties on why the prices of pine county is doubled and why that of chestnut increased moderately. The proponents and opponents of the restriction only noted that the two counties house prices changed, no other information was given. If Maple county’s council should apply the same measure without enough evidence, there is no certainty that the prices of housing would increase significantly or it will increase moderately. The councils of each county could be asked certain questions such as: the total number of residents, the level of development of the county before and after the restriction was passed.

Another question to be asked is why was other counties not evaluated? This is a major question because a conclusion cannot be drawn from two counties when there are other counties such as, cherry county, vigor county, peanut county surrounding Maple county. The council could put up a neutral group that would carry out the evaluation of 10-15 counties and see if the house prices increased or reduced. The results of the neutral group, proponents and opponents of the restriction would determine if the restriction should be passed.

Furthermore, the question of why data was not consistent in terms of the number of years that was viewed for each county, chestnut county’s restriction was only noted for 10 years and not 15 years like that of pine county. The proponents could have gone further to check for the house prices of chestnut county, if there was changes after 15 years and the opponents could have also checked for pine county’s housing prices after ten years if there was a significant difference. The prices of the houses at chestnut county could have doubled after 15 years but the proponents only noted for the duration of 10 years. The restriction in other counties might have started before pine county, it could be 20-25 years. The number of years for the restriction of each county should be looked into.

In conclusion, there are questions that are needed to be answered by the council about the other necessary information that were not asked from the council of pine and chestnut county, evaluation of other surrounding counties and the inconsistency of the number of years of the restriction in pine, chestnut and the surrounding counties. With these questions answered the council could determine if the housing prices would increase significantly.