Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Potential employers believes that grades at Omega university are inflated due to the student evaluation of professors and this do not reflect student’s achievement, which has led to students not being able to secure better jobs, this is the saying that “correlation is not causation”. The argument shows that the potential employers believes that if omega university should terminate student evaluation of professors, they would be able to secure better jobs. Certain evidences are needed to evaluate this argument.

The first evidence that needs to be checked is the 15 years the potential employers evaluated. The performance of the student within a range of 5-10 years before the implementation of the evaluation could show the level of increase or decrease in the grades of the students. The grades of the students might have risen within these years which was not evaluated before considering if the evaluation of professors had to do with the grade increase.

There was no data that was used in evaluating the grading of the students and also the increase in the grade averages. there was no proof that if the evaluation of the professors is stopped, there would be an increase or decrease in the grades of the students. 30% increase in the grade averages might have been based on the results of 10% of the students of the university. Another evidence is a survey showing the level of performance of the students within the period of the evaluation and also before the period of evaluation, this survey should cover 95% of the students of the school before a general conclusion could be made.

The potential employers only considered the evaluation of the professors as an increase in the grading system however, certain questions are needed to be asked from the school authority such as: if other policies were implemented within that period? The outcome of the grades of the students every other time an evaluation of professors is done? Has the school ever considered trying to stop the evaluation and see if there is a difference in the grades of the students? These questions help to prove that the evaluation might not be the only reason for an increase in the grades of the students.

Finally, the evidence of the results from previous years before the implementation of the evaluation of professors should be looked into, survey from the students on their level of performance and also questions about other policies being asked from the school authority would help in evaluating if the evaluation of the professors led to an increase in the grades of the students. This would determine if the evaluation should be terminated or not and how it will have effect on the students securing better jobs.