The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Observing the current dilemma being faced by the council of Maple County with regards to the proposed measure to curtail the overdeveloping state of the county by limiting new housing supply and the possible challenge with housing cost later in the future, it is important to answer some significant questions pertinent to resolving this impasse, addressing the various submissions from the proponent and opponent, and finally reaching a conclusion to resolve the stalemate.

First of all, the proponents of supplying limited housing are comparing the Chestnut county result of implementing the same measures. Considering the success in Chestnut, it could be assumed that Maple County will witness the same. However, it is important to consider the state of the economy, initial cost of living, agricultural and industrial sector of the county. For example, it was stated that there was a modest increase in the cost of housing, this could be as a result of low population growth which reflects the status of the economy, consequently, low demand for new housing. Also, Chestnut county might have implemented such measures secondary to other reasons beyond overdevelopment such as industrial sector expansion.

Secondly, the opponents of the motion cited the efect on Pine County as there was an increase in the cost of housing as an aftermath of enacting the motion. Where the opponents might have been wrong about this conclusion could be accounted for by reasons for such implementation which could range from industrial growth requiring development of more infrastructures and consequently increase in the standard of living. If the standard of living, indirectly cost of living, has been high from the onset, such outcome is expected and should not be remarkable.

In lieu of this, the prediction and growth analysis, without making reference to any other county's success or failure, should be duly considered in an unbiased manner. If the current prediction suggests an increase in the cost of housing within Maple County, it is a necessity to ask and provide answers to questions with respect to the peculiarities of the county with focus on the growth rate, industrial reforms, economy policies and agricultural implications.

In summary, there is the need to eliminate prejudice while making the final conclusion on the limited supply of housing deliberation by the council by providing answers to the questions an average citizen would ask with respect to the predicted outcome without any form of political bias.