The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large
it is a general notion that "The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the
general welfare of the nation at large. " it has been used time and again as a strong reason by
those opposing the corporate system. it is a general notion that an average company makes
300% profit per sale it makes.
looking at the larger picture it is often true that corresponding government services are often
much cheaper and with similar benefits as compared to the private counterparts. a very glaring
example of this situation is in the field of pharmaceuticals where private companies have a
monopoly in certain drug manufacturing. essential drugs tend to be extremely costly and
unaffordable to the majority.
not very long ago, a wholesale chain was reported of selling asparagus soaked in water at a rate
more than 4 times the leaf or water combined. tutorial institutes tend to lure parents into believing
that their toddlers need extra attention and sell them costly packages of not very essential
tutorials.
airline companies are a fine example of the above-stated statement as well. to maximise their
profits they tend to charge hefty for luggage and set the average weight of a person higher than
the normal. they have often been found to be violating crucial safety measures and stuffing in
more seat rows than recommended.
coal mining companies often tend to ignore the safety of miners pushing them to dangerous
areas which might cause disasters and cost many lives.
in third world countries such as India, where the population is a major problem, public transports
by both the government and the corporates have been established. while the government
facilities are much cheaper they usually run in debt and are forced to occasional hikes in the
price. the private sector transportation is costly enough to begin with and unaffordable to
masses.
the idea of the corporate sectors is to maximize profit even if it is by a single rupee. it is what is
taught to a new employee the day he or she joins office, and it follows.
although, it is also true that companies to participate in general welfare activities such as flood
aids, plantations, medical facilities to employees etc., but the point focus of the company is
always revenue generation.
in such situation, it is no surprise that "The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates
conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. " therefore it is the need and responsibility
of the state to take care of public interest and provide its citizens with amenities and facilities with
otherwise they would not be able to afford.
corporate sectors exists and will always continue to exist for revenue generation and
maximization of profit. because that is the basis of its foundation.