Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewer were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to tis formal level.

The report states that the complains have been regarding the lack of focus on local news and the loss of contract with the local business advertisers. At the first look, it does appear that the channel is suffering due to the changes it opted to make. Although, a meticulous analysis of such claims needs to be done before taking any such step.

It is commonly said that the word NEWS has been derived from the 1st letters of each directions i.e. North, South, East and West. News is a medium through which people open up to the world.

The late night shows including the national news might be less popular with the viewers for many reasons. Such as, the format of the show not being catchy enough, or the anchors not being entertaining enough. If these are the reasons, changing the content will not have much effect on viewer.

The complains which are mentioned about, do not show the statics of the complainers. It might be coming from a minority population after-all. The commercials that are being taken down could be a result of many different reasons such as, shut down of local business or opting a different medium of advertisement. Also, there is no way of knowing if the media house actually got better nation level contracts or more profitable contracts than before.

This change has been made over a year now. People tend to dislike changes at the moment. This report does not starter the time in which the complains were received.

There is no doubt that the local viewers are more effected by local news than nation. In such a case, the media house could divide time slots effectively incorporating local and national news and weather reports in the late night.

During times like parliamentary elections, it is necessary to show national news as it will directly or indirectly effect the local population. So showing national news is inevitable. The media house can heed to the report by changing to=he format, making it more interesting and divining time slots. If the TRP of a show is on rise, advertises automatically follow in.