"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep

There are many questions that need to be answered in order to ensure the recommendation would actually be effective. The argument assumes that working conditions in the two plants are the same and does not provide any elucidation on how the shifts are distributed per week and per employee.

Avoiding fatigue and sleep deprivation of employees are certainly important in ensuring a safe and robust working environment. However, merely the length of a working shift does not warrant overloading employees with potentially harmful jobs. The jobs in both plants need to be characterized and their complexity need to be clarified. A less exacting job will have a much less effect on alertness of the employees than a job that needs constant analysing and decision making. Had the argument provided us with more information about the physical and analytical demand levels of the two companies, a better decision could have been made.

Even assuming that employees at both companies, on average, face the same level of difficulty, the working shift lengths alone cannot be a deterministic factor on level of fatigue and sleep deprivation. Distribution of the shifts in each employee's weekly schedule is of great importance. Even slightly longer shifts (in the arguments case, an extra one hour), if they are scattered throughout the week can allow the employee to rejuvenate in-between the working hours to ensure optimal alertness while working. Short, but sequential shifts will enervate the employee and potentially impair his/her alertness. The argument fails to provide detailed information about the shift assignment strategies in the two companies.

And finally, a less intuitive factor is the working motivation of the employees at both companies. If employees are satisfied with their working environment, and are in a friendly and respectful relationship with their co-workers and supervisors, and if they feel adequately compensated for their contributions, then they will feel that they belong to the company and will do their best to ensure fulfilling their responsibilities and they will pay more attention to the quality of their job which will lead to less failures.

The argument fails to provide sufficient evidence that the on-the-job accidents are a direct result of the extra hour working shift at Butler Manufacturing, and thus, its recommendation does not warrant a successful outcome.