When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Historic buildings have a very important role in sustaining a society and should not be replaced by new buildings mainly due to a better utility. They bear a nation's sense of identity and they are to thank for keeping a community whole, especially in times of hardship.

One might argue that past is not important when juxtaposed with the realities of the modern times. Population is increasing exponentially and the constraint on available resources are like never before. Therefore, while sentimental values are important, they lose priority to solving modern day issues that might affect people's lives directly. This is a sound argument, but it is not that simple. While cultural identity might not seem to be a crucial factor in determining the quality of life and economic prosperity of a community, they actually play a very important role in times of hardship, war, and recession; they actually can play a lifesaving role in such circumstances.

There's always many alternatives for building something new while old buildings are unique. A historic building cannot be replaced nor revived after destruction. It is a priceless part of a nation's history and it has direct effect on people's mindset about their priorities. For example, in the US, we value our soldiers who have sacrificed their lives in the past wars. We salute them by building monuments and keeping and restoring their warfare (such as ships and planes). These are not just to thank them for their service. They mainly serve as a reminder of the hardship that this nation has gone through throughout its history and they serve as a symbol of perseverance and sacrifice for a greater common good. With such monuments in place, in case of another disaster, war or recession, the society won't lose hope and will work cooperatively to survive.

Meanwhile, the issues of today, that might warrant destruction of a historic building in the eyes of modern planners, can vanish over time. One major factor is the fast development of new technologies. For example, back in the days before invention of internet, a city planner might have decided to replace an old building in a busy downtown with a new metro station mainly because of increased congestion of traffic in the area. But less than two decades later, the fast reliable internet networks provide us with the option to work remotely thus decreasing the need to commute to the downtown; Problem solved!

Therefore, the role of historic buildings as a determinant of cultural identity should be considered when planning new developments.