Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

Scientific research is a determinant factor in prosperity of a nation. It is the driving force for progress, and it provides the opportunity for advancement of technology, and therefore improving the quality of lives of the citizens. However, the final outcome of a research should not be a major factor in deciding over allocating funds for it.

The knowledge that is generated in the course of a science research is as valuable--if not more valuable--as the final outcome of the study. For example, assume there is a project for exploring the deepest parts of the ocean looking for new species of animals. While adding one more line to the list of current species on earth seems insignificant, the same species might contain a certain gene or protein that can lead us to a cure for an incurable disease.

On the other hand, a vague and seemingly over-ambitious problem, while might be seen as a waste of resources, can have a major role other than the topic of the research itself. It can act as the driving force for advancement of education, intellectual development, and cooperation. Look at the NASA's Mars project. One might argue that with having a myriad of poverty and homelessness in the country, the money spent on studying Mars is not only a waste, but it is morally wrong. The important factor that this argument is omitting is that, yes it might be a short term solution to divert the Mars project funds to ameliorate poverty, but it will stultify the very next generation of citizens, who are going to ensure the future of the society, to gain education. With such amazing projects in place, many children of today will get motivated to become the engineers and scientists of tomorrow, thus ensuring a sustainable prosperity for the future of the country.

Is should be noted that the prompt's argument can be reasonable for research on solving time sensitive problems. Sometimes the fate of a nation depends on having practical solution to a problem in an immediate fashion. Having adequate energy resources is a good example. If a country faced an energy crisis, as many have had in the past, then funding research studies for finding replacement energy resources is crucial.

Overall, while some time sensitive and vital problems might bear short term diversion of funds, it should not prevent us, indefinitely, from encouraging ambitious and seemingly vague research studies.