Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.Write a response in which you discuss the exte

Course planning is of great importance and cannot be left in hands of inexperienced people. A knowledgable party should take on the task of developing a course. A course should be geared towards what is best for the students future career and not based on what is their current interests are.

One important reason for not including students in the course planning process is that while they might be interested in a certain topic, their preference is not based on an educated decision. Being a student, they certainly haven't been exposed to all aspects of the field that the course is covering and their scope of interests is limited by their knowledge. By learning about new topics in the course, their interests will likely change.

Meanwhile, even if the students express their interest based on a comprehensive knowledge of the field, some topics might not be interesting to them but crucial in their career and educational development. For example a biology major student can have a disfavorable view towards mathematics but having mathematical skills will certainly opens more doors to future career opportunities.

On the other hand, one might argue that including the students in planning for a course can increase students' engagement in the class. While this seems to be a sound argument, it ignores the fact that such a practice defeats the real purpose of education; Students come to class to learn new things and explore new areas. They are most likely not competent enough to identify what is in their best interest.

Therefore, taking into account the interests of students for developing a course is not a wise decision and can affect their educational development in a negative way.