"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the company should adopt electronic monitoring of their employees in order to develop productivity and prevent workers from spending too much time on entertainment and recreation by the internet. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that electronic monitoring would improve employees' productivity in the workplace. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether electronic monitoring could be useful to enhance productivity. One point that should be considered is that the author does not show how this monitoring will work in the working environment and how it will increase the productivity. In fact, there is a possibility that it represents a reverse outcome. Arguably, the mutual trust between employees and employers might diminish if employees become cognizant of electronic monitoring. So, it might create a negative effect on employees, which does not allow them to work precisely and properly.

The author also embraces the idea that employees use the internet for recreation and play should be identified and punished. Although it might seem tenable in a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if punishment and identification can improve the working quality of the employees. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not provide any information about whether employees start to play during their working hours or in their leisure time. Indeed, there is a possibility that workers use the internet for recreation after working hours when they finish their tasks completely. Moreover, if the company sets specific punishment and enact strict rules, employees might drop out of the company.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author in order to prevent employees from wasting time on their jobs, the company should install a software on the computers. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to unsettled question if install software could prevent employees from wasting time. One point that should not go unnoticed is that at a first sight it might work properly but, what if employees waste the time by other activities like going to different place at their works or play with their own device and so forth. These are problems that the software is not able to handle and solve successfully.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.