"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to preserve beaches sand from erosion people should pay some money for using beaches due to the fact that this money will help replenish beach sand. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

To commence with, the author contends that this erosion is a huge problem for tourists industry. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether tourists are really interested in beaches and they could bring a hoard of money for replenishing beach sand. One point that should be considered is that vast majorities of tourists like to use beaches with full facilities and without paying any charge. Indeed, the author does not show to the extent or how many percent of tourists willing to use beaches. Maybe the beaches are not in good situation, which could annoy people. It is also important to say that there are crowds of problem that threat tourist industry such as economic recession, political situation and so forth.

The author also allege that gaining money from tourists and people will provide an opportunity for island to replenish beach sand. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there is not any information or even statistics to show that how many people use beaches every day, every week or even annually. Perhaps a few fraction of people and tourists prefer to use beaches. Alongside that, maybe they avoid from paying money in order to use beaches. As evidences in different countries shown it is incumbent upon government to support beaches financially owing to the fact that it’s a public place.

Finally, as set forth by the author replenish sand will protect building against severe storms along the shores. Nevertheless the rationale behind this premise could be challenges owing to an insufficient evidence to support if new replenished sand could protect buildings from storms in beaches. One point that should not go unnoticed is that in any situation building along shores will suffer from sand and storms and new sand could not solve the problem. Indeed, perhaps distance between buildings and shores is noticeable and storms and sand could not impact buildings. Or perhaps those severe storms do not happen regularly and in this case different ways would be effective instead of replenish sand such as building a barrier between shores and buildings.

Having scrutinized the premise, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.