Essay topics: Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Main reason to join the educational institutes is to study and get guidance on different area of life such as employment, interests, hobbies, new inventions, career etc. Some people think that academic institutions should carry the responsibility to guide the students not to enroll the courses in which they are likely to fail. I believe that choice to pursue the course should be left to students; however, institutions can suggest their observations.

People who believe that educational institutes should restrict the students for not allowing the study in the area where chance of success are less, have some valid points. Firstly, mostly institutes have vast no of years of experience to judge the student based on the capability and interest. It is commonly seen that some students have interests in particular field but not able to soak the pressure arise in that area. For instance, my nephew has keen interest in medicine but he does not study well, so his teacher advised him not to go for medicine course as it require extensive hard work. Secondly, institutes also invite the expert career counselor who can tell the students about different options which they rarely know and advice the best fit for them.

However, it is hard to do the assessment of every student in detailed manner and advise best course for him. There are number of instances where students failed in basic subjects but become master of subjects later. For example, Great scientist Edison was made unfit for elementary education but he invented electricity which was the most useful invention of that era. Students develop different choices in different stages of life and sometime students do not respond in the school environment in effective manner.

To conclude, academic institutes have large role to play in providing best education and guidance about area where students can succeed. But decision to study subjects should be the responsibility of student and guardian.