even years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting.

In this letter, a committee of Deerhaven Acres homeowners recommends that in order to enhance of Deerhaven property values, homeowners should follow some restrictions concerning home’s exterior appearance. To prove that the recommendation, the Brookville community adopted similar restrictions and average property values have tripled in seven years. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the committee assumes that increasing of brookville property values because of home’s exterior appearance. However, there is no evidence to prove that rising of property values happened because of some restrictions such as landscaping and painting of home’s exterior appearance. For instance, maybe the property of value is a function of demand and supply. Perhaps the demand for housing has increased due to an influx of major employers. Or, perhaps the supply for housing has decreased. Either scenario would provide an alternative explanation for the increase in property values.

Another problem with the argument is that the committee assumes that the Brookville is identical to the Deerhaven Acres in all respects. However, there is no evidence to prove that this is case. Maybe people in Brookville have better economic conditions than people in Deerhaven Acres. Or maybe the personalities in two communities, their tastes and life styles are different from each other. For instance, people in Deerhaven Acres do not like to change their home’s exterior appearance.

A third problem with the argument is that the committee assumes that things remain same all over the years. However, in most cases this is not true. Maybe seven years ago people are not more open and liberal and like unified community yards and colors. But now people pay more attention to the home’s insides and facilities than exterior appearance.

In the final analysis, the committee’s recommendation cannot be taken to be correct, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above. It depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The recommendation can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.