ON THE face of it, American higher education is still in rude health. In worldwide rankings more than half of the top 100 universities, and eight of the top ten, are American. The scientific output of American institutions is unparalleled. They produce most of the world’s Nobel laureates and scientific papers. Moreover college graduates, on average, still earn far more and receive better benefits than those who do not have a degree. Nonetheless, there is growing anxiety in America about higher education. A degree has always been considered the key to a good job. But rising fees and increasing student debt, combined with shrinking financial and educational returns, are undermining at least the perception that university is a good investment.

While the author states that most of the American Universities occupied the largest portion in the list of top universities, it is totally obscure that whether the Universities rated are from wide range of courses and fields. The universities which are listed as Top Universities may belong to the same specific field, say, Computer Science. The author never mentioned about the variety of fields taken into account for the survey.

Secondly, the author indicates that most of the world's laureates and scientific papers are established by Top American Universities. Here, a large number of critics can be raised with respect to this context. For example: What is the ratio of the total number of universities in America to the Universities that produce achievements? If the number of universities is much higher than the achievements produced, then it would result a negative impact in author's statement regarding American Higher Education. Moreover, it is not explicitly stated whether the papers and laureates produced belong to a specific field of interest or from wide variety of fields. Hence, it marks the statement of author that "Scientific output of American institutions is unparalleled".

The author also suggests that college graduates earn more than the people with no degree on an average. However, this may not be true since the percent of college students who earn more than the others is not mentioned.

Additionally, the author presents that there is growing anxiety in America regarding higher education. With a deep insight into this statement, it is clear that irrespective of top universities and number of achievements made, there is a increasing anxiety. This may not only due to increased student debts but also due to other factors such as the involvement of students, study environment, harassment in study place.

Thus, irrespective of the academic achievements made by the Universities and high pay of college graduates, the author believes that a inner state turmoil is prevailing in America regarding higher studies. But this many not be true since there are many plausible fallacies and the author doesn't provide any cognitive flow of ideas.