Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim and the reason primarily deals with the common prevailing problem of modern society. That is, many problems of modern society could not be addressed since people's hearts and minds could not be changed by the enforcement of laws and orders. As the auhtor suggests "many problems of modern society" in the claim, it can be inferred that some problems of modern society can be addressed through law adn orders.

The claim being construed with this view, it can presummed that there exists problems in society which depends on people's mindset and can be controlled by laws. For example, miscreant who is involved killing someone due to vegance or robbing from someone, is subjected to the punishment of their unlawful act according to their government rules. Hence, it can be assumed that imposing punishment on miscreant could cause a change in state of mind of people.

However, there are scenarios where even the punishment couldn't solve the modern society problems. For instance, increasing rate of molestation and rape scenes in India. Even with the increased severity of punishments, these unlawful and anti-social activities cannot be scotched invalidating the possibility that people's hearts and minds can be changed by laws and orders.

In addition to this, society problems does not encompasses generic problems like killing, robbing or misbehaving but also other problems such as, disputes among people and misunderstanding among neighbors and other misaligned emotional traits. Since, society is formed by group of people of different cultures, languages and varying cultural and moral values, it is difficult for the government to enforce law unbiased.

Moreover, every individual of the society might follow their own unjust laws which may be perfectly working for them whilst not the same for others. Furthermore, there are certain scenarios which includes environmental changes and the effects of those changes on people's mind. An example is, there might be a severe drought in the area or city which posits a change of mind among people to immigrate from the place. These uncertain decisions of people cannot be controlled by the laws and orders.

At last, though certain circumstances exists where law can impose change in people's minds and hearts, there are numerous situations where it is impossible to do so. Thus, apart from acting in accordance with law, collaboration and understanding is vital for a society-free problems.