Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that for allowing its graduates to held a better future they must terminate the student evaluation of the professors. The fails to mention several key factors which could help to evaluate it better. To support the argument, author reasons that, if the students evaluation will be banished than the professors would not likely provide students with the more marks. Thus, as an outcome the true results will be reflected. The above argument if filled with the loopholes. So, it cannot provide enough evidence to suggest the mentioned conclusion by the author.

Firstly, it is assumed that the professor are providing higher grades to the students since the procedure of the student evaluation was implemented. There is no information about the grading system befor the implementation of the new system of evaluating the teaching effectiveness of professors by their students. It is possible that the professors were leniently checking grading the students even before the introduction of the new assessing system. It is also possible that the students really deserved these grades. Thus, there is no support to the assumption and the data is incompetent to come to such a conclusion.

Secondly, arguments contends that there is a 30% rise in the grades of the students, it lacks the informatoin about what was the base used to measure the grades. Changing the base also changes the grades. Also, there is a chance that students might be deserving such a score. Being, possible that the implementation of the new method might have increased the teaching qualities of the professors. Also, it is not stated clearly whether, the 30% rise in grades is according to their previous grades? Is it according to the total marks of all the students with the base of the number of students? Whether, the increament in the grades are the students of any particular faculty or of the whole university? Thus, there are many flaws about the statistical entry and author must clearify them for proper assessment of the conclusion.

The analogy with the Alpha University also raises many queries about the conclusion, such as, before the implementation of the new evaluation policy were the students of the Omega University successful at getting jobs? Did they get better placement than the Alpha University Students or not? Also, the image of both the universites according to the employers before the implementation of the new policy must be known for the further analysis of the comparison that is done. There is a possibility that the students of Alpha University were not successful in getting jobs, which is not clearly stated and thus, it gives rise to such doubts. So, the author must clearify these queries in order to better deem the argument.

In conclusion the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide with clear and concrete data, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis of the reasons for the increament of the grades. Finally, to better assess the the above mentioned argument it would be necessary to know more about the information relating the assumption of increasing of the grades, about statistical inference which provides strong evidence and also the analogy which has an credible evidence for the argument of the author to make a strong point.