Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the proposed argument, it is stated that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors in order to secure better jobs for the graduates. The author has come to this conclusion based on the evidence that professors were giving high grades to the graduates to receive positive feedback in return. Consequently, these inflated grades were seen as an inaccurate reflection of the student's accomplishment and therefore students are not successful at acquiring better jobs later. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

First of all, the author presumes, without evidence, that the main reason for rise in grades of the class is the "teaching evaluation procedure". However, this may not be the case. Perhaps students could have improved their grades because of some other factors. It is possible that new students of Omega University are brighter, sharper, and sincere than that of the last batches of the student. For instance, it is possible that admission standards were raised and now the students are required to submit high school GPA, standardized entrance exams, and presentations to get their desired courses. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the evidence regarding the grade point averages of Alpha University and Omega University is to be evaluated. The author readily assumes that the grade point averages are roughly comparable. For example, the grading system of Alpha University might be based upon the student's performance in every lecture rather than his/her semester examination. Thus, such evidence would weaken the author's implication of Omega University students not getting better jobs than the students at Alpha University because of grades. Perhaps Alpha University has a better alumni network that allows its graduates to find employment more easily. If this is the case, then the author's claim is unwarranted and his suggestion that Omega University should terminate the evaluation of professors is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that inflated grade point averages are the result of a flawed professor's teaching evaluation procedure, further evidence is needed whether other more approaches would help in mitigating the adverse effects of unemployment. It might be too extreme to terminate student evaluation of professors. Perhaps the university could redesign the evaluation process to not punish teachers strictly, so they will not feel compelled to assign higher grades to the students. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed and if the author is able to provide three pieces of evidence regarding the rise in grade point averages of Omega University's students, then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to terminate student evaluation of professor.