The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The common attributes of a successful leader are determination, dedication towards society, and decision-making skills. Also, there are two most important factors that a leader must possess are cooperation and competition. In my opinion, for the betterment of the people, it is utmost of importance to instill a sense of cooperation in the youth of our nations. I will discuss two reasons to support my belief in the following essay.

To begin, Competition is something that is inherited in young people from the very beginning of their childhood. It is difficult to nurture the competition aspect in children by teaching methodologies. For instance, when a child is encouraged to compete with his peers, it might develop the thought in a child that competition is the only possible thing to gain respect, praise, and money in their life. It is also possible that children may find it difficult to adjust to the social group of people because they feel inferior to others. Just because they were not able to perform better than another child, a child not only gets disappointed but further can get depressed, and he may quit after trying once. Thus, it is necessary to establish a sense of cooperation in young children in order for them to flourish in their desired fields without making them feel weaker than others.

Secondly, Cooperation can build a healthy environment for the young generation to achieve their goals. Nowadays, society requires most people to have great knowledge of the specific area because one person can not fulfill the requirements of the product that they want to build. For example, the people at NASA work together to achieve the collective goal of launching spaceships in space. For example, if we did not have encouraged youth to work together and share their respective knowledge to reach the final goal, then an organization like NASA would never have come into the picture and we could never have dreamt about space travel and its possibility either. Moreover, it is integral to introduce cooperation in our children because an individual can give his input in the form of an idea but to accomplish this idea cooperation from the team is vital.

To sum up, some people believe that only competition is necessary for achieving goals, but I argue that it is a secondary factor. In order to achieve success, it is integral to instill a sense of cooperation in our children.